that execution yields invalid results, which is obviously not what I
want.

The switch in the following listing is used to implement a virtual
method call, 99999 and 100000 are type identifiers used for this
purpose.
To give an example: %6 is an object of type 99999 (the type id is
stored in the aggregate's first field), allocated on a heap that is
emulated on the stack (%3).

Could someone refer me to documentation, or give me a brief explanation as to why the following will not work--with the caveat that I am still new to this, and have not gotten beyond generating and running jitted code via the LLVM libraries:

Imagine three functions fa, fb, fc where fa, and fc are generated and jitted with llvm. Function fb on the other hand has external C linkage and is statically compiled along with the llvm generating code into one executable.

- fc merely executes an unwind.
- fa uses invoke to call fb, passing its own arguments to it, which in turn calls fc.
- At runtime fa is called (after jitting from a main(...) C routine), with a pointer to an ExecutionEngine instance, and a Function pointer to fc, both typed as Type::Int8Ty->getPointerTo() (at code generation time).
- fa takes these arguments and invokes fb with them.
- fb being a non-generated C function, takes the passed in Function pointer and engine instance, retrieves the jitted C pointer, and calls it.
- As this pointer is a pointer to fc, the unwind is then executed.

Basically I have the call stack fa->fb->fc with fa, fc generated and fb not generated. Given that I was using the intuitive model of a setjump, longjump, I thought that fc's unwind would pass through fb and end up at fa's invoke's exception block. However it cores even though I've verified that each function is being executed. So I guess either there is something fundamental I don't understand, or I have another issue.

Although I'm assuming this problem is obvious to those in the know, I can supply test code if desired.

Thanks in advance