alloca combining, not (yet) possible ?

Hello

since my broad RFC request didn't catch any responses, let me get a bit more into the nitty-gritty:

I tried to get llvm (3.7) to optimize superflous allocas away, but so far I haven't figured out how. Is there no optimizer for this ? Should I adorn something with some attributes ? As far as I can tell no, but I am no llvm expert...

For what I want to do, i will probably have a few dozen combinable allocas in my produced code each function. So it would be worthwhile to reduce stack space needs.

Ciao
    Nat!

From: llvm-dev [mailto:llvm-dev-bounces@lists.llvm.org] On Behalf Of Nat! via llvm-dev
Subject: [llvm-dev] alloca combining, not (yet) possible ?

I tried to get llvm (3.7) to optimize superflous allocas away, but
so far I haven't figured out how. Should I adorn something with
some attributes ?

Yes.

void g( void)
{
struct a_b x;
struct a_b y;

x.a = 1;
x.b = 2;
f( &x);

// x no longer needed
// expect y to reuse x space
y.a = 1;
y.b = 3;
f( &y);
}

You have not provided us with the declaration for f(). Unless its argument is marked with the nocapture attribute, the compilation of g() cannot assume that f() has not retained a pointer to the x struct and is using it in the second call.

- Chuck

Caldarale, Charles R schrieb:

You have not provided us with the declaration for f(). Unless its argument is marked with the nocapture attribute, the compilation of g() cannot assume that f() has not retained a pointer to the x struct and is using it in the second call.

thanks a lot for the input. Yes, I forgot to that. The C function declaration would have been

void f( struct a_b *p);

which compiled into

declare void @f(%struct.a_b*) #2

with