[Attributor] Questions on LLVM's Attributor

Hello everyone,

I’m a PhD student currently evaluating whether the Attributor could be useful for the research in our group.
At the moment, there are two main requirements that I’m not sure Attributor covers, so any input would be much appreciated.

The first requirement is (one level) context sensitivity.
In the 2019 Attributor introduction talk at 31:40 (2019 LLVM Developers’ Meeting: J. Doerfert “The Attributor: A Versatile Inter-procedural Fixpoint..” - YouTube), Johannes Doerfert mentioned that the Attributor is not context sensitive (yet).
This was some time ago, though, so I’m wondering if this has changed in the meantime?

We would also like to use the Attributor in our own middle-end pass to deduce facts, and adapt the IR based on those facts.
We will need to do this iteratively, though, and we don’t want to run Attributor’s analyses from scratch every time, but instead just “patch” the analysis results when the IR changes.
The second requirement is hence incrementality.
In the 2019 LLVM IPO panel at 13:30 (2019 LLVM Developers’ Meeting: “Panel: Inter-procedural Optimization (IPO) ” - YouTube), Johannes Doerfert mentioned that the Attributor is not explicitly incremental yet, but that the necessary information (i.e. the dependency graph of abstract attributes) is available.

I did some initial testing with my own abstract attribute that implements a basic forward data flow analysis, i.e. the state of the abstract attribute at each IR position depends on its predecessor(s).
I reused the dependency graph that’s built automatically (through the Deps member of AbstractAttributes).
Whenever a new instruction is added to the IR, I remove its successor and that successor’s (transitive) dependencies from the AAMap, so that they are recomputed when the Attributor is run the next time.