Beginner and do not know how to start

Hi I’m new to mlir and my team using mlir c++ framework to transfer from ast to m

As a beginner I do not know what is the mechanism of this.

From toy example, it seems that:

1, I need to define a dialect,
2, I need to register it
3, I need to analyze the ast, create blocks, set insertion point and call build method to add stuff in.

But what is the logic of all of these, most of the build functions are created from tablegen, what are the parameters mean??

Actually so many questions in my head and I do not know how to organize them, can anyone make a simple example to illustrate the mechanism of this??

Thanks a lot!!

Hi,

This all can seem fairly confusing at first, don’t worry it’s normal :slight_smile:

You mention Toy, have you gone through the tutorial entirely? There is a video and slides also if that helps (links are on the first page).

Each chapter of the tutorial has matching code in the repository: llvm-project/mlir/examples/toy at main · llvm/llvm-project · GitHub ; the example compiles and execute ; feel free to try to modify them and play with them to get a feel of how everything fits together.

Hi, thanks a lot, I’m trying to read and understand as much as I can.

I kind of figured out the following:

1. Operations are defined based on dialect

2. Dialect usually ODS format with mlir-tblgen tool to create

3. During tut2, it created an ModuleOp as the top instance and adding different operations into it

4. It use push_back and setInsertionPointToStart method to adjust the point of insertion

5. It use builder.create(parameters) to create operations in the related insertion place

6. builder.create will direct to one of opertation::build function

7. The main content of the build function are addOperands, addTypes and addAttributes.

Thus based on the previous understanding, I would have the following questions