[ Builtins ] Returning a custom struct

Dear cfe-dev,

I am new at hacking on Clang and I’ve made a decent amount of forward progress in defining my own Constant Expression builtin for C++. It takes arguments which must be compile-time evaluatable. This worked out just fine so far, and has allowed me to get started on implementing std::embed.

I wanted to wrap my Constant Expression builtin in a C+±defined constexpr function. The problem with this is that any argument passed to my wrapping function that used my builtin ended up becoming non-evaluatable in Visit calls during the Sema::ActOnFinish phase.

This has a few consequences. My wrapper function uses 2 less arguments than my builtin currently, passing 2 variables to the builtin to be filled in as output parameters, and then placed into a nice struct the user can use (unsigned char* and a size_t). I lose the interface if I use the builtin directly and someone has to provide the output parameters.

I tried to use the “t” specifier on the Builtin in Builtin.def to let me define my own type checking, but so far it seems like even with “t” I can’t make my builtin have a signature that returns a custom structure.

Does anyone know how I would begin to work around these problems? My first interest is to make the builtin I wrote match the struct-returning interface I need. That would allow me to drop the 2 output parameters and instead return a structure. I do not know how to do this.

My second idea is to abandon defining it through Builtins.def altogether, but I’m not sure how to go about defining a builtin that’s not part of that list.

Does anyone have any insight into this?

Sincerely and Hopefully,

ThePhD

Dear cfe-dev,

I am new at hacking on Clang and I’ve made a decent amount of forward progress in defining my own Constant Expression builtin for C++. It takes arguments which must be compile-time evaluatable. This worked out just fine so far, and has allowed me to get started on implementing std::embed.