Clang -- incorrectly putting stuff in cxx_global_var_init (when building GCC subcomponents)

Hi. First time posting here.

I’m trying to use a macOS host (x86_64) for NetBSD (aarch64) target cross-development, which I’ve done in the past. But somewhat recent updates NetBSD include a newer GCC in the tree, and that has introduced a glitch. I’m not really an expert on any of this, but I’ll try to describe. Please bear with me.

As a first step, the NetBSD build system creates a cross-building tool chain. This works fine, and I get a working aarch64–netbsd-gcc set of tools that run on x86_64-darwin. All great.

As a next step, I try to build an actual NetBSD “distribution” (i.e., full tree with all the libraries, binaries, header files, etc). During this process, NetBSD builds another gcc toolchain – this one is an aarch64 toolchain that would run on an aarch64 NetBSD system.

During the GCC build process, there are some “generator” programs that ACTUALLY build for the host system (in this case, x86_64-darwin). And this is where we run into a glitch.

When it builds the “gencondmd” program, it fails to link, complaining about several variables not being found:

Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
“_aarch64_isa_flags”, referenced from:
___cxx_global_var_init in gencondmd.lo
“_const_int_rtx”, referenced from:
“_flag_modulo_sched”, referenced from:
“_flag_rounding_math”, referenced from:
“_operands”, referenced from:
“_optimize”, referenced from:
“_reload_completed”, referenced from:
“_reload_in_progress”, referenced from:
“_this_target_rtl”, referenced from:
ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64