Creating single AST for multiple files

Hello,

I am new to Clang and so I am having some problem figuring out how to create AST for a program with multiple files .

What I am trying to do:

• In an application containing multiple .cpp/.c and .h files, parse through all the files and identify all instances of a particular function
    -Move the function definition to a new file with a changed name(changed function name)
    -Find all instances where the particular function is called and change the function name to the new name

(I am ignoring the other dependencies like nested functions/headers etc so that I can focus on my actual question. So assume this works:))

I have been reading up on Clang/libtooling inorder to figure out a way to do the same. From what I understand, the steps to do this would be

• Compile and create ASTs for the entire source code(assuming it includes multiple .cpp and .h files)
    -Somehow traverse these ASTs(RecursiveASTVisitor) to figure out where all this the particular function I am interested in exists(ASTMatchers??)
    -First write the function definition to a new file
    -Now use the rewriter to write the original file without the function definition and replace all the places where a call to this function exists with its new name
    (I have tried to simplify the problem statement so that I can pinpoint my issue better. I’ll ofcourse have to manipulate the ASTs and the source code more to get a working program )

First of all, I need to have ASTs of all TUs and not just one AST. Is there any way in libtooling to obtain a single AST for multiple TUs? If not is there any standard practice for the same incase anyone has faced the same problem?