FUD in clang vs GCC comparision ?

"GCC is licensed under the GPL license. clang uses a BSD license, which allows it to be used by projects that do not themselves want to be GPL."
http://clang.llvm.org/comparison.html

GLIBC requires linked programs to follow GPL.
But for what i know GCC alone does not have such.

For example Opera for Linux started as GCC w/o GLIBC project, and it is totalyl proprietary.
More so, the page itself does link to the letter Joe Buck - Re: -fdump-translation-unit considered harmful
which outright tells that GCC may be used to compile proprietary programs.

They are referring to the inclusion of clang inside another project and not the result of compilation.

"GCC is licensed under the GPL license. clang uses a BSD license, which
allows it to be used by projects that do not themselves want to be GPL."

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, and this is not legal advice.

I believe the text to which you refer is about reusing parts of Clang in other compiler-related projects. It is not talking about the licensing of programs compiled with Clang.

For example, if I understand correctly, if you reused GCC's code to build a front-end for a new programming language, that front-end would need to be licensed under the GNU GPL. If you built that same front-end using Clang, then you could license it however you wanted provided that you followed the restrictions in the BSD-style license that Clang uses.

You are correct that both GCC and Clang can be used to compile proprietary code. I don't believe it was the intention of the person who wrote that page to say otherwise.

-- John T.

They are referring to the inclusion of clang inside another project and
not the result of compilation.
------------
There's no FUD - please contact a legal professional if you have further
questions or doubts and leave this list for development relates
questions or issues.