Hello

Hi,

I just took my first steps into clang development (downloading and compiling the source and subscribing to this list) and I thought I'd say hello. I'm a CS student and mostly interested in C++, so that's where I'll be working. I think I'll like this work. Expect lots of questions.

Sebastian

Welcome. For each question you ask, you got to implement one missing feature of C++. :slight_smile: Feel free to ask any hard questions you want, as templates aren't done yet. :slight_smile:

Mike Stump wrote:

mostly interested in C++, so that's where I'll be working. I think I'll like this work. Expect lots of questions.

Welcome. For each question you ask, you got to implement one missing feature of C++. :slight_smile: Feel free to ask any hard questions you want, as templates aren't done yet. :slight_smile:

Hehe :slight_smile:

I think I'll go for namespaces first. However, it seems that there is absolutely no support for nested names yet. Is that correct? Such support would have to be added to the parser and to the semantic analysis at least. MinimalAction too? It would have to keep track of identifiers, if we don't want horrendous misparses of code when not using the full semantic analysis.

namespace foo
{
        typedef int bar;
}
foo::bar i;

cxx-parse-nested-specifier.cpp:7:4: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm', or '__attribute__' after declarator

Sebastian

Hi Sebastian,

Sebastian Redl wrote:

I think I'll go for namespaces first. However, it seems that there is absolutely no support for nested names yet. Is that correct?

I have a set of patches for nested names, waiting to be "unleashed on the world" when the conditions are right.
On the other hand here are a couple of missing C++ features (the "good thing" of so much missing C++ support is lots of options to choose implementing :slight_smile: )

--Unnamed namespaces:

namespace { void f(); }
void g() { f(); }

main.cpp:2:12: error: use of undeclared identifier 'f'

--'using' directives: