Help with decrypting extra output and suggestion for a guide

I am very new to all things C. Eg. programming. compilers debuggers and such. So I am not the best candidate for development, but I like to experiment. And here is my first attempt to use clang with my test file (tfile.c). There is a lot more output then your webpage showed; that I do not understand or know about. I have read most of your website, yet I have not discovered what a lot of it means. Maybe just my lack of knowledge of all things compilers.

So is there a good book or website/s I can read to get this knowledge?

I have been reading “An Introduction to GCC - for the GNU Compilers gcc and g++” by Brian Gough, which I have found a good start point for programming with a compiler. Might be a good candidate for a rewritten for clang for newbies like me :slight_smile:

Yet this book does not has the intermediate to advanced knowledge that I am needing or wanting. I have also been reading the GCC documentation but it seems too be a more formal explanation of the compiler and tools. Not that many examples and good explanations of why or when to use some argument or option. For example they use -Wall argument to set a whole list of other arguments for warnings, but from my experiments your compiler (clang) does not. Is this true or am I wrong?

Seeking more input, Thanks
DMG

tfile.c (2.99 KB)

Yet this book does not has the intermediate to advanced knowledge that I am needing or wanting. I have also been reading the GCC documentation but it seems too be a more formal explanation of the compiler and tools. Not that many examples and good explanations of why or when to use some argument or option. For example they use -Wall argument to set a whole list of other arguments for warnings, but from my experiments your compiler (clang) does not. Is this true or am I wrong?

-Wall enables most warnings in Clang, just as it does in GCC.

Preprocessing:
Extra output shown what does it mean?