ld taking too much memory to link clang

Hello;

This is my first time compiling clang; I tried to do it in a computer with 4 GiB of RAM but no swap, and I had a problem: I checked out the latest version of clang and llvm from the SVN repositories; when I ran ‘make’, the computer freezed while linking clang, and I needed to do a hardware reset.

After that, I ran ‘make’ again, this time with a process monitor, and realized that when ‘make’ called ‘ld’ to generate the ‘clang’ executable, the ‘ld’ process allocated memory on and on until the computer freezed.

I searched the Web, and found someone saying that linking is a very memory-hungry process (http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=2300015), and that it’s necessary a big amount of swap memory in order to compile certain projects.

As I never experienced such a behavior when compiling other projects, I decided to ask here: is this really supposed to happen? If so, what is the minimum requirement (in terms of virtual memory) to build clang?

The environment was:
Fedora 18 (3.7.2-204.fc18.x86_64)

clang 3.1

GNU ld version 2.23.51.0.1-3.fc18 20120806

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is a stupid question.

Yes, linking is very memory hungry. The problem will be exacerbated
significantly if you are building with debug info enabled. I regularly
build a Release+Asserts clang with only 4GB of RAM.

However, I find it strange that Linux's OOM killer isn't killing ld,
and that your computer is instead freezing. You might want to contact
the Fedora developers about that.

-- Sean Silva

I had this issue while using Linux VMs and someone suggested just
using gold instead of ld which resolved my issues. Having some swap
space just in case is also useful.

I also found it strange that ld wasn’t being killed, and was instead causing my computer to freeze. I made a “while (1) malloc(…)” test program, and it gets killed when I run it. Very strange… I’ll contact someone from Fedora about this.