MLIR for heterogeneous computing novel accelerator architecture

Hi,

I am fairly new to the world of compilation and MLIR and I confess a little overwhelmed by the breadth of it.
I am working on a novel accelerator architecture mainly targeting deep learning workloads and I am trying to figure out how much work can be done at the compilation stage.
The accelerator would comprise a few computing components with a different set of operations each with their own properties (different latency costs, some could introduce numerical errors, maybe some have SIMD support while others not, etc).
The set of operations between the computing components are different, although the intersection is non-null.

So optimising a program for this kind of hardware requires to take into account all the costs, memory movements and so on.
Is it something that MLIR can help me solve?
Has there been any similar work done?
What resources should I look into?

MLIR provides infrastructure to help someone build a compiler for many architectures. And for some more mainstream targets (CPUs and GPUs of various types), it has quite a bit more provided directly. I am aware of multiple users of MLIR who have built compilers for various accelerators, and ime, many such accelerators share characteristics like you describe. However, the bespoke and proprietary nature of these accelerators tends to keep them from generalizing or being developed in the open like their CPU and GPU counterparts. As such, there can be little to see publicly. While these designs and the corresponding compilers can be simple, they are often not – and building a good compiler for such an architecture can be a large amount of work no matter which tools your are using, mlir included.