More function signatures for LLVMRunFunction?

Hello,

I am new to LLVM, and came across a snag when working through tutorials.

With the MC JIT execution engine, LLVMRunFunction only works on “main()”-like functions – other functions fail with the message “Full-featured argument passing not supported yet!”. The workaround recommended by the tutorials is to create a main()-compatible wrapper function and to send in parameters via pointer.

Are there plans to support arbitrary function calls without a wrapper?

For what it’s worth, I’ve been tinkering with a patch to the execution engine that will work with a wider array of functions, at least when the native host is X86. My idea is to support any function whose parameters all fit into registers by calling the function with a false (but ABI-compatible) function signature. E.g. on 64-bit X86 the parameter signature:

(double, double, double, double,
int64_t, int64_t, int64_t, int64_t)

…is ABI-compatible with any other function whose parameter list consists of up to 4 doubles and 4 integers / pointers. (Assuming 64-bit Windows or System V calling convention.) The nice part about this approach is that it doesn’t require any assembly, just some C-style casts of function pointers, and covers a large class of function calls, including all the main()-like functions covered by the current implementation. But it won’t cover function calls that require the stack for parameter passing (long doubles, large structs, varargs, etc).

I am writing to this list ahead of formally submitting a patch because I have a few questions…

• Is there interest in this functionality? I didn’t see many references to LLVMRunFunction on the mailing list.

• Relatedly, is someone else already working on addressing the limitations of MCJIT’s runFunction?

• Where should I put test code for this kind of change? I assume llvm/trunk/unittests, anywhere else?