Problems trying to build LLVM

Hi, I am brand new to LLVM, or more precisely, trying to be. I’m getting stuck on compiling LLVM.

• I tried installing on a Mint 18.1 VM with 6GB RAM, and the builds of some large executables were killed by the OOM killer. I finally realized that I needed to build using shared libraries, and succeeded. This was in November.

• I put aside my LLVM project, and just got back to it. I got stuck compiling the Kaleidoscope demo, encountering this error:

/tmp/kal-2072b8.o:(.data._ZN4llvm30VerifyDisableABIBreakingChecksE+0x0): undefined reference to `llvm::DisableABIBreakingChecks’

This discussion, from this mailing list, points out that I need to build LLVM with -DLLVM_DISABLE_ABI_BREAKING_CHECKS_ENFORCING=OFF.

• So now I am trying to rebuild LLVM, and ran into a few new problems. First, I discovered that I need the Z3 theorem prover. Unsure why this problem did not show up before. Second, I’m running into many errors like this:

CMake Error at cmake/modules/AddLLVM.cmake:570 (target_link_libraries):
Attempt to add link library “clangAST” to target “clangApplyReplacements”
which is not built in this directory.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
tools/clang/cmake/modules/AddClang.cmake:86 (llvm_add_library)
tools/extra/clang-apply-replacements/CMakeLists.txt:5 (add_clang_library)

Getting LLVM installed is proving much more problematic than I was expecting, based on experience with many other open source projects. Can someone give me a push in the right direction? I started with this document: http://llvm.org/docs/GettingStarted.html, but found no guidance about the problems with huge executables, advice about shared libraries, etc.

Thanks.

Jack Orenstein

Hi, I am brand new to LLVM, or more precisely, trying to be. I'm getting stuck on compiling LLVM.