question about gccld and external libraries

hi,

I'm really new to llvm. I've successfully bootstrapped llvm-14 on my system and am able to successfully compile c code to llvm.

the problem is now that gccld is complaining that it can't find the libraries, like "c" or "crtend". [1]

all is fine, if I just use intrinsified functions like printf and friends, but I want to use the clock_gettime function and now the lli dumps.

thanks for any pointers.

-- jakob

[1]
gccld -o test-llvm -L/mnt/fire300/jp/llvm-14/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.4-llvm -L/mnt/fire300/jp/llvm-14/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.4-llvm/../../.. /tmp/ccc7ax7O.o -lc -lcrtend

gccld: warning: Cannot find library 'c'
gccld: warning: Cannot find library 'crtend'

Hey, Jakob --

I'm really new to llvm. I've successfully bootstrapped llvm-14 on my
system and am able to successfully compile c code to llvm.

the problem is now that gccld is complaining that it can't find the
libraries, like "c" or "crtend". [1]

Did you install the bytecode libraries into the C/C++ frontend lib
directory?

See

http://llvm.cs.uiuc.edu/docs/CFEBuildInstrs.html#instructions

7. Go back into the LLVM source tree proper. Rerun configure, using the
same options as the last time. This will cause the configuration to now
find the newly built llvm-gcc and llvm-g++ executables.

8. Rebuild your CVS tree. This shouldn't cause the whole thing to be
rebuilt, but it should build the runtime libraries. After the tree is
built, install the runtime libraries into your GCC front-end build tree.
These are the commands you need:

% gmake
% gmake -C runtime install-bytecode

Jakob Praher wrote:

hi,

I'm really new to llvm. I've successfully bootstrapped llvm-14 on my system and am able to successfully compile c code to llvm.

the problem is now that gccld is complaining that it can't find the libraries, like "c" or "crtend". [1]

If you built your own llvm-gcc, then you need to build and install the bytecode libraries as Misha directed.