Regarding Instrumentation of Clang/LLVM for Compile Time

Hello everyone,
I am a college student at my final year, I have a strong interest in compilers and i wish i could help the community.

The “Instrumentation of Clang/LLVM for Compile Time” project seems very interesting and i started reading about instrumentation to get more knowledge.
I have a strong C/C++, algorithms, data structures, operating systems and fimiliar with x86 archeticture.
I am new to open source so i wish you tell me how can i be useful?
And is this project still open?
Thanks

1 Like

https://llvm.org/OpenProjects.html#llvm_instrumentaion_for_compile_time

Maybe @Jamie can clarify the scope of work a bit. Since it’s posted under a “GSoC 2022” header, I hope it’s still open/relevant.

Hi Mohamed,

Yes, this project is open, it is under GSoC 2022.

2017 LLVM Developers’ Meeting: M. Zolotukhin “LLVM Compile-Time: Challenges. Improvements... ” - YouTube is a good presentation which describes how we measure and monitor compile time, some existing challenges, some useful tools and tricks, and etc. It is a great idea to get yourself familiar with running test-suite, and especially CTMark.

Another area to get familiar with is LLVM: llvm::TimePassesHandler Class Reference and LLVM: include/llvm/Support/TimeProfiler.h File Reference.

@Jamie Please feel free to add to this.

Good luck!
Whitney Tsang

1 Like

That’s great. I will start doing my research, in fact this projects is so intresting as it will make me have a good understanding in all compilers area.
I will finish what you suggested and see what i would get and inform you.

Thanks

Hi Mohamed,