Remote Debugging on Linux

Hi All

I am new to LLDB. I want to remotely debug some applications. Both the host and target OS is Linux.

I went through few discussions in this list regarding remote debugging but I am still unclear about how to do it.
I could figure out from the discussions that there are 2 ways to do remote debugging: lldb-platform and lldb-gdbserver

I don’t know which one of them is fully functional for Linux. I would highly appreciate some comments here.

Thanks
Abhiinnit

The first way to do this is to use the lldb-platform to allow you to view and launch processes on the remote host.

On the remote machine launch lldb-server:

remote.foo.com% lldb-server platform --listen=2000 --stay-alive

Then on your host machine:

host.bar.com% lldb
(lldb) platform select remote-linux
(lldb) platform connect connect://remote.foo.com:2000

Now you have a live connection to a platform server on the remote host so you can list existing processes:

(lldb) platform process list
(lldb) platform process attach --pid ...

Or you can launch:

(lldb) file /path/to/binary
(lldb) process launch -- arg1 arg2

The platform will launch a lldb-server to debug your programs on the other system.

The other is to just directly debug a process. In this case we don't go through the platform, we just start lldb-server on

remote.foo.com% lldb-server gdbserver host.bar.com:2000 -- arg1 arg2

Then attach to it:

host.bar.com% lldb
(lldb) file /path/to/binary
(lldb) process connect connect://remote.foo.com:2000

Now you will be stopped at the program entry point and ready to debug a single process.

All of this is of course using the top of tree SVN sources. It will change a bit if you are using older sources.

Greg

It’s only really tested on x86_64->x86_64. We are bringing up x86_32 and arm32/64 now-ish, MIPS soon to follow.

Please let us know if you hit any problems!

Hi All

Thanks a lot for all the inputs.