RFC #2: Improving license & patent issues in the LLVM community

Hello everyone,

This email is a continuation of a discussion from almost a year ago, started back here:
http://lists.llvm.org/pipermail/llvm-dev/2015-October/091536.html

As described in that email, this is a complicated topic and deals with sensitive legal issues. I am not a lawyer, and this email is not intended to be legal advice in the formal sense. That said, I have spoken with many lawyers about this, and the LLVM Foundation hired Heather Meeker (a prominent OSS licensing attorney) to represent the interests of the LLVM Community. This proposal incorporates all of their feedback, and Heather has further refined and approved this approach.

The goals of this effort are outlined in the previous email but, in short, we aim to:
- encourage ongoing contributions to LLVM by preserving low barrier to entry for contributors.
- protect users of LLVM code by providing explicit patent protection in the license.
- protect contributors to the LLVM project by explicitly scoping their patent contributions with this license.
- eliminate the schism between runtime libraries and the rest of the compiler that makes it difficult to move code between them.

Here we are discussing what the best end game is -- not the logistics of how to get from here to there.