speculative parallelization in LLVM

Hi,

I plan to do some speculative parallelization in LLVM using Polly and I target loops that contain pointers and indirect references. As far as I know, Polly generates optimized code starting from the SCoPs, therefore I plan to replace all pointer accesses with array accesses, such that Polly will accept the code. Each array access should use a liner function of the enclosing loops indices.

This is how I plan to implement it:

1. parse the alloca instructions and find declarations of pointers
  2. for each pointer
  3. delete the alloca instruction
  4. create a new alloca instruction for the new array
  5. replace all uses of the pointer with the new array

Feed this code into Polly, get an optimized version and replace back the array accesses with the original corresponding pointers.

Please advise me whether this is a good strategy to replace the pointer accesses.

Thank you,
Alexandra

Hi,

I'm no expert in auto-vectorization, but I guess you'll be restricted
to pointers that are guaranteed not to overlap, which depending on how
you structure your code, are not many.

You can't just transform *any* pointer access to array access by
replacing them by allocas (that, afaik, cannot overlap).

Also, the allocas inside functions with pointer arguments store a
pointer to the original pointer, so you'd have to go back to the
caller and change *that* alloca, only you can't do that because you're
not sure the callee will always be called, unless you want to make a
whole refactoring of all pointer allocas in all functions in all
modules, and even so, you'll be restricted to the accesses that don't
overlap.

I could be talking non-sense (please let me know if I am), but I feel
that if it were that simple, we'd see much more mainstream
auto-vectorizing compilers...

cheers,
--renato

Hi Alexandra,

good to read you and even better that you plan to look into Polly. :wink: