Subversion Conversion (IMPORTANT)

All,

I know we've cried wolf before, but the conversion of the LLVM projects'
software to use Subversion instead of CVS *WILL* occur on Friday June
29th with the following approximate schedule:

      * 09:00 CDT (14:00 UTC, 07:00 PDT) - CVS becomes read-only
        (commits prevented)
      * 09:05 CDT (14:05 UTC, 07:05 PDT) - Final conversion to SVN
        starts
      * 11:45 CDT (16:45 UTC, 09:45 PDT) - SVN conversion completes
      * 12:00 CDT (17:00 UTC, 10:00 PDT) - SVN read/write access
        enabled.

Please note that the process will start at 09:00 CDT but the other times
are approximate as it depends on how long things take to run. We'll send
out emails on the day before and during the process to keep you
informed.

If you need to get things committed to CVS prior to conversion, please
make sure its done by 14:00 UTC on Friday June 29th. We'll be using the
USNO Master Clock (http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/cgi-bin/timer.pl), you
should to.

In the next few days (before cut-over on Friday) there are a few things
you need to do to handle this change:

      * Make sure you have Subversion 1.4.3 installed on your machine so
        you can check out. Older versions will work but may lack
        features available in 1.4.
      * Update any scripts or programs you use to checkout/list/commit
        LLVM software to use Subversion (svn) command instead of the cvs
        command.
      * Try a test checkout via anonymous access using the URL:
        http://llvm.org/svn/llvm-project/llvm/trunk When you use this
        URL (http based) you will only have anonymous read-only access.
        Commits will be rejected.
      * If you have commit access, try a few test commits on the SVN
        repository. You can access this now by checking out with this
        URL: https://llvm.org/svn/llvm-project/llvm/trunk. (note the
        https). This repository will be updated twice per day between
        now and Friday when it goes live. PLEASE NOTE: any commits you
        make to this repository before the cut over on Friday WILL BE
        LOST! Feel free to make commits as we need to test the email
        notification scripts, but don't make commits you want to keep
        there. CVS is still the official repository until the cut over
        on Friday.
      * If you run a nightly tester, please add "-usesvn" to the command
        line that runs the NewNightlyTest.pl script. This will cause
        NewNightlyTest.pl to check out from Subversion instead of CVS.
        If you have your own copy of NewNightlyTest.pl, get a new
        version.

In the next couple of days we will be converting other services like
ViewVC to use Subversion instead of CVS. By Friday, everything should be
good to go.

For full details and latest status, please refer to
http://llvm.org/SVNMigration.html

Reid.

I know we've cried wolf before, but the conversion of the LLVM projects'
software to use Subversion instead of CVS *WILL* occur on Friday June
29th with the following approximate schedule:

Great, I'm glad to see this happening. Thanks for making it happen.

One request: when the change goes live, please make sure the various user documentation and web site pieces are updated to say how to check out form SVN instead of CVS.

-Chris

     * 09:00 CDT (14:00 UTC, 07:00 PDT) - CVS becomes read-only
       (commits prevented)
     * 09:05 CDT (14:05 UTC, 07:05 PDT) - Final conversion to SVN
       starts
     * 11:45 CDT (16:45 UTC, 09:45 PDT) - SVN conversion completes
     * 12:00 CDT (17:00 UTC, 10:00 PDT) - SVN read/write access
       enabled.

Please note that the process will start at 09:00 CDT but the other times
are approximate as it depends on how long things take to run. We'll send
out emails on the day before and during the process to keep you
informed.

If you need to get things committed to CVS prior to conversion, please
make sure its done by 14:00 UTC on Friday June 29th. We'll be using the
USNO Master Clock (http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/cgi-bin/timer.pl), you
should to.

In the next few days (before cut-over on Friday) there are a few things
you need to do to handle this change:

     * Make sure you have Subversion 1.4.3 installed on your machine so
       you can check out. Older versions will work but may lack
       features available in 1.4.
     * Update any scripts or programs you use to checkout/list/commit
       LLVM software to use Subversion (svn) command instead of the cvs
       command.
     * Try a test checkout via anonymous access using the URL:
       http://llvm.org/svn/llvm-project/llvm/trunk When you use this
       URL (http based) you will only have anonymous read-only access.
       Commits will be rejected.
     * If you have commit access, try a few test commits on the SVN
       repository. You can access this now by checking out with this
       URL: https://llvm.org/svn/llvm-project/llvm/trunk. (note the
       https). This repository will be updated twice per day between
       now and Friday when it goes live. PLEASE NOTE: any commits you
       make to this repository before the cut over on Friday WILL BE
       LOST! Feel free to make commits as we need to test the email
       notification scripts, but don't make commits you want to keep
       there. CVS is still the official repository until the cut over
       on Friday.
     * If you run a nightly tester, please add "-usesvn" to the command
       line that runs the NewNightlyTest.pl script. This will cause
       NewNightlyTest.pl to check out from Subversion instead of CVS.
       If you have your own copy of NewNightlyTest.pl, get a new
       version.

In the next couple of days we will be converting other services like
ViewVC to use Subversion instead of CVS. By Friday, everything should be
good to go.

For full details and latest status, please refer to
http://llvm.org/SVNMigration.html

Reid.

_______________________________________________
LLVM Developers mailing list
LLVMdev@cs.uiuc.edu http://llvm.cs.uiuc.edu
http://lists.cs.uiuc.edu/mailman/listinfo/llvmdev

-Chris

All,

One note about SVN clients. Its come to our attention that *some* 1.3
builds (and probably earlier) of the svn client do not have SSL support
built into them. This means the client won't be able to use the
https://… URL. You will still be able to check out (anonymously, with
read-only access) using the http://… URL. So, if you have commit
access, please check your SVN client to see if you can checkout using
https://… If you can't you'll need to rebuild your client with the ssl
option turned on or get a 1.4 client where SSL is enabled by default.
For those of you without commit access, this won't make any
difference .. just use the http://… URL.

Some feedback for Chris ...

> I know we've cried wolf before, but the conversion of the LLVM projects'
> software to use Subversion instead of CVS *WILL* occur on Friday June
> 29th with the following approximate schedule:

Great, I'm glad to see this happening. Thanks for making it happen.

You're welcome. Its long over due.

One request: when the change goes live, please make sure the various user
documentation and web site pieces are updated to say how to check out form
SVN instead of CVS.

I've added that to the "TO DO" list on the SVNMigration.html page.

Reid.