Suggestion for VM porting to LLVM

Hi guys,

first of all let me say "hello" to everyone. Its the firt message for me in this list and I'm pretty happy that I'll be able to finally start working with LLVM.

I've a question for you all if you can help me: a few years ago I've implemented a simple VM for a language we're using in my company. The VM JIT compiles a simple bytecode and executes it. It works quite well, better then some well know VMs. My idea now is to try to migrate the VM to LLVM to see if I can gain something in terms of speed and extensibility.
I'm totally new to LLVM, but as far as I understood thare might be two ways to add LLVM to my project:

- generate IR from my complier;
- build a VM that converts at runtime my bytecode to IR and executes it;

I largely prefer the second option because it would be great if I can continue to use to old programs without having to recompile them.

Which approach do you suggest ? are there any alternatives ?

Gabriele

My take, do the second one first, gain some experience and have some fun. You can use this to double check the performance and suitability. But mid-term, I'd say, do both. This allows you to compare the performance of each solution against the other, compile time, compile time memory pressure, run time and run time memory usage. You're then in a better position to decide which path suits what usage styles you have. Long term, you can then see if it makes sense to trim a solution out.

I've done something similar with HLVM, albeit for a new VM that uses a new
representation. I found the combination of OCaml and LLVM to work extremely
well. OCaml makes it very easy to manipulate programs and its LLVM bindings
make it very easy to JIT compile and execute native code. My entire VM
(including GC) is only 1kLOC.

Hi Jon,