Symbolic Queries + LLDB

Hi all,

I'm a CS student on a Masters program at Imperial (UK) and Cristian Cadar (one of the authors of the original KLEE paper, http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~cristic/papers/klee-osdi-08.pdf) and I will be undertaking a project related to KLEE. One of our ideas is adding symbolic queries to LLDB, so users can not only get the value of a particular variable but also the range of values it can take.

Before choosing any particular project, I wanted to ask whether there's any external interest in adding symbolic queries to LLDB.

Thanks,
Milen

I would definitely love to see this come to LLDB.

Are you just asking if we'd like to contribute, or if we're interested
in it happening in general?

-y

Just asking whether anyone is interested - I'll be implementing all of it. The only kind of potential support needed would be some general guidance on how to implement it so that it fits nicely with the internal structure.

The deadline for taking the decision to undertake the project is on Wednesday, so I'll send another email if I do decide to go ahead with it.

M

Milen,

when you say "the range of values it can take," are you referring to adding a kind of watchpoint that records range information, so that you can perform integer range analysis etc? Or are you referring to a query that operates on all instances of a variable (say, a class member) existent at the current time? Given what KLEE does, I assume the former.

Right now, even before you start looking at the query infrastructure – or even the watchpoints, really – LLDB really needs support for keeping time-stamped metadata about variables and user interactions. Because LLDB uses editline, it gets some level of command-line history, but that's pretty much it right now. A proper metadata infrastructure could provide full history for variable values and function executions, providing a foundation for a variety of LLDB-based program analysis tools.