Integrating llvm pass with pass manager

Hello,

I have followed steps given in - https://stackoverflow.com/questions/29910051/integrating-llvm-passes/48142693#48142693, to integrate my pass with pass manager and run it with clang. I am able to run my pass with opt - opt -mypass but when I try to run it with clang, I always get an error - unknown argument: '-mypass'. Please help me for the same. I would be really grateful.

Regards,
Sangeeta

-mypass should be only recognize by the backend part (i.e. llvm). You should add -mllvm to tell clang the following argument have to be passed to the backend part.

Can you please tell me when I need to give this option and how. I am sorry I am new to this. Thank you so much for responding.

Do you pull clang under llvm/tools and compile it as well? In theory, if opt recognize the option, so does clang -mllvm.

Look back to the SO link [1] you posted, I assume you register your pass by writing something like below already,

INITIALIZE_PASS_BEGIN

INITIALIZE_PASS_END
ModulePass *llvm::createYourPass() { return new YourPass(); }

The only suggestion I can give is looking at other existing pass to see what you might miss. For example, take a look on X86OptimizeLEAs.cpp. It works like the following ways.

$ clang -mllvm -disable-x86-lea-opt test.c
$ opt -disable-x86-lea-opt test.ll

On the other hand, Mem2Reg.cpp fail to be used on clang.

$ clang -mllvm -mem2reg test.c
$ clang (LLVM option parsing): Unknown command line argument ‘-mem2reg’. Try: ‘clang (LLVM option parsing) -help’

I guess you need to implement the code below for your pass just like X86OptimizeLEAS.cpp does.

static cl::opt
DisableX86LEAOpt(“disable-x86-lea-opt”, cl::Hidden,
cl::desc(“X86: Disable LEA optimizations.”),
cl::init(false));

Clang doesn’t support adding passes from the command line the way opt does. Opt has special parsing in opt.cpp for this that clang doesn’t have.