JIT execution with thread_local global variable

Hi guys,

I’m new to LLVM.
After spending a few hours on the internet, I found pretty much nothing about how to allocate a global variable that is thread_local.

What I want to do is fairly straight forward, I would like to have a thread_local global variable for a function to access and simply return it.

However, I have no luck in implementing the idea.

Does anyone know where to find good tutorial of similar things?

Thanks

Can you express what you want to do in C or C++? If so then you can use clang to check the LLVM IR that corresponds to it with clang -S -emit-llvm

Hi

Thanks for replying me.

Here is my code

InitializeNativeTarget();
InitializeNativeTargetAsmPrinter();

Constant* init_value = ConstantInt::get(Type::getInt32Ty(context), APInt(32,12));

GlobalVariable* bsp = new GlobalVariable(*module, Type::getInt32Ty(context), false, GlobalValue::ExternalLinkage, init_value, "bsp", 0/*, GlobalValue::GeneralDynamicTLSModel*/);
llvm::FunctionType* funcType = llvm::FunctionType::get(Type::getInt32Ty(context), {}, false);
llvm::Function* mainFunc = llvm::Function::Create(funcType, llvm::Function::ExternalLinkage, "main", module.get());

llvm::BasicBlock* bb = llvm::BasicBlock::Create(context, "entrypoint", mainFunc);
IRBuilder<> builder(bb);
builder.CreateRet(builder.CreateLoad(bsp));

auto TheExecutionEngine = std::unique_ptr<ExecutionEngine>(llvm::EngineBuilder(std::move(module)).create());
const auto shader = (int(*)())TheExecutionEngine->getFunctionAddress("main");

printf("%d\n", shader());

Below is the IR code generated by LLVM 10.0.0

; ModuleID = 'my cool jit'
source_filename = "my cool jit"

@bsp = global i32 12

define i32 @main() {
entrypoint:
  %0 = load i32, i32* @bsp, align 4
  ret i32 %0
}

If the ‘GeneralDynamicTLSModel’ part is uncommented, I got a crash in the last line. I have searched for the whole day, no luck finding any resources guiding how to allocate a thread-local global variable.