LLVM Embedded Toolchains Working Group and sync ups

Dear LLVM community,

While clang is one of the key recognized compilers for desktop and server OSes, increasingly there is interest in making use of clang and LLVM for embedded development as well.

Apparently, there are multiple companies making use of LLVM for embedded use cases and there was a tutorial in LLVM Developers’ Meeting 2020 (Program) on how to use LLVM in bare metal environments, however it is manual, thus error prone.

So there is a proposal to create the LLVM Embedded Toolchains Working Group to coordinate clang and LLVM improvements when targeting embedded use cases. LLVM Embedded Toolchains Working Group sync up calls will happen on Thursdays at 9am PST/5pm BST/6pm CET every 4 weeks starting on Mar 3rd, 2022.

Please find the call details, agenda and meeting minutes in LLVM Embedded Toolchains Working Group Sync ups - Google Docs

The work group and sync ups are open to everyone interested in making use of LLVM for embedded development.

5 Likes