Open sourcing a batch of checkers

Hello everyone,

I am an intern at a company where we developed several checkers based on the clang infrastructure. We have about 30 checkers that are either C++ core language or STL related. We would like to contribute some of these checkers (together with the documentation and the test cases). The ones that are well tested and have good false positive rates.

Most of the checkers were originally developed find certain design rule violations. One example of a design rule at this company is: „The emptiness of a container should be checked using the empty method instead of the size method. It is not guaranteed that size is a constant-time function, and it is generally more efficient and also shows clearer intent to use empty. Furthermore some containers may implement the empty method but not implement the size method. Using empty whenever possible makes it easier to switch to another container in the future.” We realized that, maybe such checkers could be useful for the clang community as well.

Our tool right now is a clang plugin that runs custom frontend actions on the analyzed source code. The reason is that, some of the checkers are only consist of ASTMatchers, some of them using RecursiveASTVisitors, some of them are clang Static Analyzer checkers. We are wondering what would be the desired way to contribute those checkers back. Should we focus on migrating them to clang-tidy? Should we focus on transforming them to Static Analyzer checkers?

Thanks,

Gábor Horváth

+Manuel

clang-tidy seems like a natural place for things that find “design rule violations”.

– Sean Silva

This sounds very interesting. For a start it may be easier if some of the
source code and tests in question are available to take a look at. Is it on
github?

In general and not specific to your request for feedback - I'd say keep
patience in mind. The community tends to review code from "friends" at a