RFC: Decimal floating-point support (ISO/IEC TS 18661-2 and C23)

I’ve been tasked with implementing decimal floating-point (DFP) support for C (_Decimal32 et al) in Clang as specified by ISO/IEC TS 18661-2:2015 and as adopted for C23 as a conditionally supported feature (__STDC_IEC_60559_DFP__). Support for C++ (std::decimal32 et al) as specified by ISO/IEC TR 24733:2011 is a secondary goal. This post seeks comments on the initial design approach described below.

Please note that I am not an expert in decimal floating-point, so there is a good chance that I’ve made some incorrect assumptions and/or am uninformed about environments, challenges, and design options that an expert would be expected to know. Pointers to educational resources would be helpful and appreciated.

This RFC is intended to introduce considerations and establish high-level frontend direction. Specification, backend, and standard library implementation concerns are largely left for future RFCs or code reviews.

Introduction:

Some architectures (e.g., Power, z/Architecture) have hardware support for DFP, but other common architectures do not. A portable DFP implementation requires a software based implementation in addition to any hardware specific support. Hardware support may provide a subset of the operations required by the linked specifications, so a run-time support library may be a necessity regardless of target architecture.

The relevant standard for C support is ISO/IEC TS 18661-2:2015. This and related standards were recently added to C23. The added features include the following new decimal floating types and corresponding literals with the noted suffixes. The type names are keywords and type specifiers. These are arithmetic types (they are not storage types).

• _Decimal32; literal suffix: df (e.g., 1.0df, 2.0DF).
  • _Decimal64; literal suffix: dd (e.g., 1.0dd, 2.0DD).
  • _Decimal128; literal suffix: dl (e.g., 1.0dl, 2.0DL).