Understanding LLVM Optimization (Rpass=inline)

Dear LLVM community

I’m a novice in compiler principles and optimization, I’m currently working with some example code to see what && how LLVM optimization is doing to generate good machine code. While working I find some functions are being inlined by llvm and some are not, but I don’t know the internals of optimization so I can’t able to figure the reasons and rationale behind them.

For example:

struct value{

int set(){} // Function does nothing!

};

void foo () {} // Function does nothing!

void func( ) {

value obj;

obj.set();

foo();

}

Compiling with command "clang++ -O2 -std=c++11 -stdlib=libc++ -Rpass=inline name.cpp prints

only obj.set() was inlined but not foo(). I don’t understand the rationale behind this (both are empty functions right ?). Why LLVM not inlining the function “foo” ?

Could you please share some pointers (videos or blogs) which explains the design of llvm optimizations . And also what is mean by

Next,

Clang documentation (here) mentions that -Wambiguous-member-template warning is defaulted to on. But when I actually compile the same code as in documentation it doesn’t throw up any warnings. Is the documentation is out-dated for clang 8.0.0 ?

Software details :

Clang 8.0.0 , Linux mint.

Hardware details:

X86-64 bit.

Could you please share your knowledge for the above questions ? it is a great help to me

Thank you very much for your time,

PreeJackie