Applying for GSoC 2021(Fuzzing LLVM-IR Passes)

Hi LLVM developers,

I am a junior student majoring in Computer Science at ShanghaiTech University. I’ve been browsing through The LLVM Compiler Infrastructure Project and found out that LLVM is participating in Google Summer of Code 2021. I wanted to be sure to inquire about it and get in touch soon.

One project idea really caught my eyes, ‘Fuzzing LLVM-IR Passes,’ striking chord with my experience. Currently, I am working with Professor Hao Chen (Contact author of the fuzzer Angora) and his fellow graduate students researching fuzzing. My main contribution lies in the experimental evaluation part. I’ve written many scripts to automate the benchmarking of different fuzzers, e.g., building libraries with fuzzer instrumentation (afl-clang-fast…), running fuzzers, and triaging and analyzing fuzz-results with afl-cov. Our most recent paper is under review at USENIX Security 2021. I’ve also written a dozen LLVM passes following USCD’s advanced compiler course (Open-sourced code and notes at GitHub - chibinz/CSE231: Notes and projects following UC San Diego's Advanced Compilers course) as practice and contributed to the basic block stubbing pass for coverage feedback in the prior research project. If applicable, I see this as a golden opportunity to exercise what I’ve learned about LLVM and fuzzing in real-world application and at LLVM scale. This also a chance for me, as an LLVM user, to contribute back to LLVM, following the FOSS spirit.