Discussing feasibility: Generating Tablegen files for easier LLVM backend development?

Hello, LLVM Community!

I want to preface this post by telling you that I am new to LLVM, but I am very much eager to learn.

I am currently at the end of my Master studies. For the Master Thesis project, me and my supervisor had the idea that a good research opportunity would be to try to speed up the LLVM backend development process, and the Tablegen files being a big part of that, this seems to be an area where improvements can be done.

The idea would be to have some description of the target (Registers, Instructions, Calling Conventions, …) in a more human readable format (for example in YAML, JSON or even XML) as the input, and the output of the tool would be the Tablegen files (at least a rough version of them where most of the boilerplate is generated). Starting from this, one could piece together the classes generated by Tablegen, write the MC layer and such, and in theory it could work to have a HelloWorld program running on that target, compiled with this backend, clang being the frontend.

As a test target for this project I was thinking of a toy architecture just to kick things off, and then see how it works when I move on to real MCUs.

My question to you is if this is a feasible thing to do. Maybe you know of an existing project that already does something similar?

I hope this is a good place for my question.

Thanks!

Have you looked at MDL:

Thank you very much! This does look quite promising. Will look into it and try it out!

Note that Tablegen is wildly used in LLVM for instructions, diagnostics, and more.

I feel like instead of

YAML/JSON -- (your tool) --> TableGen Text -- (llvm-tblgen) --> Generated Source

It will be less convoluted to translate YAML/JSON to TableGen’s in-memory representation (e.g. llvm::Record, see files in include/llvm/TableGen):