Estimating shape bounds for tensors and using worst-case amount of memory

Hi! I’m new to MLIR but I was wondering about level of support of dynamic shapes. I want to understand if it is possible to build a NN inference engine on top of MLIR that supports dynamic shapes and can estimate upper bound on memory consumption and hence use fixed amount of memory.
This is done for example in TensorRT, where user provides bounds for shapes and sometimes for values of input tensors, and TensorRT does all shape inference itself. Built TensorRT engine can tell how much memory it will need in the worst case, and you can even provide it pointer to preallocated memory of this size. I want to do similar thing using MLIR.
Obviously I want to reuse MLIR infrastructure (tensor, shape and linalg dialects, bufferization, e.t.c.). So the question is: are there any obstacles to implement such feature, given that I will implement shape bounds inference myself? Are all major dialects ready to work with such constraints?

This seems entirely in the realm of what can be done. The built in tensor type support an encoding attribute which could model bounds. The challenge is rather how to carry this through transformations when the system hasn’t been built around this concept of bounded shapes.

Am I right, that most straightforward approach will be probably to make a pass that finds all ops that produce tensors and updates bounds info in their outputs, and run this pass before bufferization?

Have you seen the recent ValueBounds op interface work?

I think this is a little bit difficult to answer in general. It depends on how it’s used and serialized. I like the having this be computer (where possible) as needed and then one can use. Mehdi mentioned the tensor encoding attribute, but depending on the dialect and previous inference/passes on it one may not be able to use it (at least not without clobbering other information).