GSoC project questions.

Hello everyone, I have a couple of questions about good project ideas for GSoC because I’m kind of stuck thinking what I should do.

First of all, allow me to introduce myself - I’m Alex Lorenz, a Comp Sci student from Ireland. I would like to participate in GSoC this year, and I would love to do something for LLVM, because it’s a great project. I am familiar with LLVM api, as last year I wrote a compiler(for fun/education) for my own language which used LLVM as a backend. I have a good experience with C++(started self taught, more than 5 years ago), and I have used it in several freelance projects and many of my own.

However, I am not sure what my project should be. It would be interesting to work on optimizations and/or code generation for LLVM, but I have no idea what a good project for that would be. The Open Projects page mentioned LLVM Superoptimizer, so would this be a viable project that would benefit LLVM? It also mentions writing a frontend for another language, and I think this would be a really good project, but there are so many languages that I’m not sure which one to choose - perhaps Go or maybe even http://magpie-lang.org/?