How to create dependencies between conversions?

Hello!
I’m a newbie in MLIR project :slight_smile:
Basically I need one of the following functionality when I run applyFullConversion:

1. Create explicit dependencies between operations conversions
  2. Tell MLIR that I need to run some of the conversion as later as possible

The second option is more preferred

Is it possible or I’m speaking nonsense?

Thanks for the help in advance!

This isn’t directly possible, but maybe if you describe the problem to solve we could help with a strategy :slight_smile:

Fair enough!
I’m trying to enable OpenACC conversions in Flang. I believe that the problem is tightly related to MLIR and/or can be solved with it.

A little bit of a background

OpenACC lowering to LLVM IR in MLIR is done in 2 phases:

1. OpenACCToLLVMConversion - as far as I understand, it converts a memref type in the operands to LLVM pointers. Actual operation conversions expect only memref or llvm pointer arguments: llvm-project/OpenACCToLLVM.cpp at main · llvm/llvm-project · GitHub
  2. OpenACCDialectLLVMIRTranslationInterface - converts actual operations to runtime call directly in LLVM IR

OpenMP lowering done in a similar way and it is already enabled in Flang, so I just try to mimic it here: WIP · unterumarmung/llvm-project@8e6249d · GitHub
And it seems that it should work fine, but the problem occurs when we actually try to convert an OpenACC operation.
I use this Fortran program as an example because OpenACC’s enter data lowering to LLVM IR should be fully supported in MLIR.

subroutine foo
    integer :: a
    a = 42
    !$acc enter data copyin(a)
end subroutine foo

Which has the following FIR (build/bin/flang-new -fc1 -fopenacc -emit-mlir c.f90) before any conversion to LLVM IR whatsoever:

module attributes {fir.defaultkind = "a1c4d8i4l4r4", fir.kindmap = "", llvm.target_triple = "x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu"} {
  func.func @_QPfoo() {
    %0 = fir.alloca i32 {bindc_name = "a", uniq_name = "_QFfooEa"}