Not understanding why I am getting "failed to legalize operation 'builtin.unrealized_conversion_cast' that was explicitly marked illegal"

Hi I am a beginner and I am struggling to understand the following error:

ukernel.mlir:25:5: error: failed to legalize operation 'builtin.unrealized_conversion_cast' that was explicitly marked illegal
    %cmem: memref<1xvector<12x32xf32>>
    ^
ukernel.mlir:25:5: note: see current operation: %20 = "builtin.unrealized_conversion_cast"(%19) : (!llvm.struct<(ptr<array<12 x vector<32xf32>>>, ptr<array<12 x vector<32xf32>>>, i64, array<1 x i64>, array<1 x i64>)>) -> memref<1xvector<12x32xf32>>

The error comes from the following code snippet:

func.func @vec_op_acc(
    %amem: memref<256xvector<12xf32>>, %bmem: memref<256xvector<32xf32>>,
    %cmem: memref<1xvector<12x32xf32>>
)
{
    %i0 = arith.constant 0 : index

affine.for %k = 0 to 256 {
        %a = vector.load %amem[%k] : memref<256xvector<12xf32>>, vector<12xf32>
        %b = vector.load %bmem[%k] : memref<256xvector<32xf32>>, vector<32xf32>
        %c = vector.load %cmem[%i0] : memref<1xvector<12x32xf32>>, vector<12x32xf32>
        %res = vector.outerproduct %a, %b, %c : vector<12xf32>, vector<32xf32>
        vector.store %res, %cmem[%i0] : memref<1xvector<12x32xf32>>, vector<12x32xf32>
    }

return
}

I am using mlir-opt -pass-pipeline="convert-vector-to-llvm,convert-memref-to-llvm,convert-func-to-llvm,reconcile-unrealized-casts" ukernel.mlir > lowered/ukernel.lowered.mlir to lower the snippet to llvm MLIR.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you and apologies if this is a dumb question!

It generally means the type conversion wasn’t completed by some previous passes. Remove the reconcile-unrealized-casts to see the IR and look for unrealized_conversion_cast operations that are not paired with the casts going into the other direction.