OpenMP Support for LLVM and clang

Hello,

I am a masters student interested in parallelization API’s and auto
parallelization. I have been following LLVM’s development for some time now
and would like to make a contribution. In particular I am interested in adding
OpenMP support for LLVM. I believe this will be useful both for clang as well
as LLVM Polly. I would like to know if anyone is already working on this.

Any helpful suggestions are welcome.

Hi,

we use the llvm to lower c++ code to c code which can be run through our abstract interpretation framework
("goblint" based on CIL). Along with the c code we emit some structured text files that contain the "lost" information
(class hierarchy, private/public attributes etc). The backend is derived from the c backend (In addition to the c code
debug locations are emitted so that the c code lines can be mapped back to the original cpp code lines. Furthermore, a few
type checks are performed which are more restrictive than the actual c++ standard, but this could be moved further back in the tool chain.).
This is developed for a company as part of a science cooperation with our university.
Ideally, I would like to submit the backend as a patch to llvm so I don't need keep updating my llvm branch just to keep the backend alive
which is 95% identical to the c backend.

Maybe this could be handled as a new subtarget for the c backend?

Any ideas?

Thx,
Alex

Hey Gautam,

I think this is an excellent idea. At the moment I do not know of any official and public project regarding OpenMP support in LLVM/clang. It would be awesome if you could work on this.

I propose to take a look at the mpc project, which has a LGPL licensed OpenMP library. The explanations how to use MPC OpenMP directly are in a header file called mpcomp_abi.h located inside the mpc/MPC_OpenMP/include directory.

Furthermore I know people at the University of Innsbruck work on a Clang parser for OpenMP [1]. (I copied Peter)