[RFC]Add op for semantics of nullptr in memref dialect

Hi everyone, I’m an undergraduate student submitting an RFC to the community for the first time.I’m happy to be here to talk to you all.Feel free to comment below if you think there’s a problem, thanks.

Overview

Previously my research was based on RISC-V AI chips.For a matrix multiplication or convolution operation, bias may be incorporated in the chip.For example, ucb-bar/gemmini: Berkeley’s Spatial Array Generator (github.com).When doing matrix multiplication, you can pass in a nullptr, which means no bias, but when using MLIR for support, you need to pass in a bias even if you don’t have one, because MLIR’s memref dialect doesn’t support nullptr,this causes unnecessary performance loss.The specific reasons are some chips rely on addresses for data transfer.The chip is implemented using the ROCC interface.The instruction set of the chip is an extension of the RISC-V R type.The rs1 and rs2 fields may be an address.

memref.null

Call it that for now.This op is able to get a memref, but the address of this memref is nullptr, and when the address is taken for it, it will get nullptr.Here are the specific tests.

// test.mlir
func.func @main() {
  %1 = memref.null : memref<4x4xf32>
  %2 = memref.extract_aligned_pointer_as_index %1 : memref<4x4xf32> -> index
  vector.print %2 : index
  return
}
.// .mlir-opt test.mlir -convert-func-to-llvm  -finalize-memref-to-llvm -reconcile-unrealized-casts  
module {
  llvm.func @main() {
    %0 = llvm.mlir.constant(4 : index) : i64
    %1 = llvm.mlir.constant(4 : index) : i64
    %2 = llvm.mlir.constant(1 : index) : i64
    %3 = llvm.mlir.constant(16 : index) : i64
    %4 = llvm.mlir.zero : !llvm.ptr
    %5 = llvm.getelementptr %4[16] : (!llvm.ptr) -> !llvm.ptr, f32
    %6 = llvm.ptrtoint %5 : !llvm.ptr to i64
    %7 = llvm.mlir.zero : !llvm.ptr
    %8 = llvm.mlir.undef : !llvm.struct<(ptr, ptr, i64, array<2 x i64>, array<2 x i64>)>