[RFC] Improve code-review process for clang-tidy

Hi,

I’m writing with the hope of starting a discussion on how to improve the code-review process for clang-tidy patches. My experience so far as a developer has been rather frustrating lately. Here’s a summary of how it goes:

• I put up a patch for review.
  • Very quickly (within hours) I get reviews from multiple people.
  • I address the comments.
  • Then reviewers go into complete silence for weeks or even months.

At this point, I’m honestly confused as to what’s happening:

• Do reviewers get any notification when the patch is updated?
  • Do reviewers get any notification when I ping and tag them?
  • Do reviewers really don’t have time to at least communicate a rough ETA for review, or tag other reviewers? I understand people are busy, but I think it’s not unreasonable to expect a response (not review) within 1 week when people pings and asks questions.

Due to this, as a developer, I feel discouraged to contribute to clang-tidy. I fear others
might experience the same, leading to clang-tidy contributions being reduced over time.

How can we improve?

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

3 Likes

It seems I’m not alone alone here, see for example here: patch blocked for 4 months due to reviewers not providing feedback:
https://reviews.llvm.org/D128372

@njames93 , since you are the Code Owner in clang-tidy, would you mind sharing your thoughts?

I think reason is obvious: other developers are busy with something different. Some are currently working with different parts of LLVM Project (Clang, Clangd, Include-cleaner), some - outside. It may be reasonable if LLVM organization will sponsor/employ some maintainers (like Linux Foundation does), so they could have more time to work on its projects.

Still, the code owner is supposed to take responsibility for making sure reviews happen. If there is a code owner, and they aren’t doing the job, that’s a problem.