Support for bfloat in DAGTypeLegalizer::SoftenFloatRes_FP_EXTEND

Hi folks,

I’m new to LLVM discourse, so thanks in advance for your patience and understanding :).

I’m working with a proprietary target that has native bfloat, but no native double precision. DAGTypeLegalizer::SoftenFloatRes_FP_EXTEND doesn’t check for bf16, so lowering of FP_EXTEND bf16 → f64 asserts with “Unsupported FP_EXTEND!”. This is easily fixed with the change below, however I would like to make this change upstream, if practical, rather than maintain another patch in our internal LLVM fork. Is there an existing upstream target for which this scenario is relevant, and therefore could be used to write a test case against? If not, any suggestions for how I might create a meaningful test case in the absence of a relevant target?

Many thanks in advance,

Henry

--- a/llvm/lib/CodeGen/SelectionDAG/LegalizeFloatTypes.cpp
+++ b/llvm/lib/CodeGen/SelectionDAG/LegalizeFloatTypes.cpp
@@ -513,7 +513,8 @@ SDValue DAGTypeLegalizer::SoftenFloatRes_FP_EXTEND(SDNode *N) {
   // There's only a libcall for f16 -> f32, so proceed in two stages. Also, it's
   // entirely possible for both f16 and f32 to be legal, so use the fully
   // hard-float FP_EXTEND rather than FP16_TO_FP.
-  if (Op.getValueType() == MVT::f16 && N->getValueType(0) != MVT::f32) {
+  if ((Op.getValueType() == MVT::f16 || Op.getValueType() == MVT::bf16) &&
+      N->getValueType(0) != MVT::f32) {
     if (IsStrict) {
       Op = DAG.getNode(ISD::STRICT_FP_EXTEND, SDLoc(N),
                        { MVT::f32, MVT::Other }, { Chain, Op });

We sometimes accept small, obvious, patches to codegen without tests if there’s no reasonable way to test them with an in-tree target.

Alternatively, you could make your target custom legalize FP_EXTEND.

No. bfloat has limited support only on ARM/AArch64/X86 in upstream ATM. None of them has native support.