What are DialectRegistry and MLIRContext, and what is their connection/relation?

What are DialectRegistry and MLIRContext, and what is their connection/relation?
I see, I can do registry.insert<toy::ToyDialect>(); or context.getOrLoadDialect<toy::ToyDialect>(); context.appendDialectRegistry(registry);.
However, if I load and appendDialectRegistry, it is not the same as insert. Got confused. Clarity will be helpful.

Hello,

Well, I am a newbie in MLIR. But, still, I will try to answer what I learned so far.

MLIRContext
It provides mechanisms to manage dialects and other components of the MLIR ecosystem. Think of it as a Manager :smile:

DialectRegistry
DialectRegistry is a helper class used to register multiple dialects at once. Think of it as a Registrar :smile:

Relationship and Usage

• Registering Dialects with DialectRegistry
    – Main purpose:
    The main purpose of DialectRegistry is to aggregate and register multiple dialects within the MLIRContext.

– When it is useful
    This is useful when you have multiple dialects to register and want to manage them collectively. It’s a cleaner approach when dealing with multiple dialects.

Here’s an example of how to use it:

mlir::DialectRegistry registry;
registry.insert<toy::ToyDialect>(); // Registers the type, not an instance
registry.insert<another::AnotherDialect>(); // Registers another type

mlir::MLIRContext context;
context.appendDialectRegistry(registry); // This creates instances of the dialects and registers them
  • Registering Dialects with MLIRContext

– Main purpose:
    This is straightforward and useful for registering a single dialect directly within the MLIRContext.

– When it is useful
    It’s simpler when dealing with only a few dialects or when you want immediate registration.

Here’s an example of how to use it:

mlir::MLIRContext context;
context.getOrLoadDialect<toy::ToyDialect>(); // Directly creates and registers an instance of ToyDialect