[GSoC 2016] Introduction & Feedback - Better Alias Analysis

Dear LLVM community,

I am a GSoC student this year working on the project of improving alias analysis in LLVM.

The proposal initially came from a discussion I had with various devs on the mailing list some time ago [1]. The general goal of this project is to make alias analysis (in particular, cfl-aa) “better”, and to be more concrete here is a list of objectives I had in mind:

• Evaluating the current state of cfl-aa, and fix all known bugs.
  • Improving the precision of cfl-aa. Although flow sensitivity may not be very helpful for LLVM in its current form, field sensitivity should be something important and I’ll definitely try to add it to cfl-aa. Given the complexity LLVM’s memory model has, my guess is that I may need to spend most of my summer on this task.
  • Improving the performance of cfl-aa. (It is fairly efficient in its current form, IMO. Further performance tuning may be needed if more features such as field sensitivity were added.)
  • Understanding how various clients interacts with cfl-aa, and exploring various ways to minimize precision/performance losses caused by the interaction.
  • If time permits, maybe I can look at scev-aa and try to bring it back to the compilation pipeline.

I know these objectives are not as clear cut as other GSoC projects people used to have, and it is hard to come up with a clear schedule as well as a success metric. Nevertheless even if my contributions may seem fragmented and incremental, I felt that as long as the work is useful to the community, it is going to be the most valuable summer I’ve ever had as a student.

** Current Status **