MLIR Beginner: MLIR backend for custom accelerator

Hello! I am trying to get accustomed to MLIR in order to be able to use it to generate code for a custom accelerator.

Currently I am running over Chapter 2: Emitting Basic MLIR - MLIR and figuring out the code.

While the tutorial covers well the toy dialect construction, ops definitions and tablegen, I am trying to learn the MLIR API , i.e. the way the methods build(), parse() and verify() are defined in Dialect.cpp and the generation of IR code from MLIRGen.cpp.

Basically I am looking for a method to learn the MLIR API, what each class does and where to use it.

My scope would be to define a dialect from MLIR then to lower it into binary representation. How one can ‘learn’ the MLIR, is there are systematic approach method?

I would like to know what would be the right approach to accomplish my goal, given that I am completely new to MLIR development.

TIA!

The code for the tutorial is in the repo, did you build it, modify it, extend it?
There should enough there to cover a quite significant part of the API surface I think.

Yes, I’ve built it, I’m debugging it to understand how it works, so the next step would be to then a new operator to the toy language?

You mentioned you’re running over Chapter 2, so I would say the next step is chapter 3 :wink:
Probably worth completing a few of the chapters before trying to modify the code too heavily. Instead of adding operator, doing some change is an easier start probably.

Hi again, thanks for the feedback so far.

Currently I have defined several traversal procedures more or less like the example in https://mlir.llvm.org/docs/Tutorials/UnderstandingTheIRStructure/ , on the MLIR structure.

At an Operation I have defined an iterator over the results, and by calling “llvm::outs() << op->getResult(idx)” I am getting something like

“%0 = onnx.Constant dense<[[[[0.0632363558, 0.16975446, …]]]]>”