[RFC]: a new tutorial: "MLIR for Beginners"

Introduction

Over the last year I’ve been gradually becoming “the MLIR guy” among a group of cryptography researchers, oriented around our HEIR project which is built on MLIR. Many folks in this community have told me they find MLIR difficult to learn, so I wrote a series of tutorials aimed at complete beginners—in the sense that the intended audience doesn’t know MLIR, LLVM, or much about compilers, but they do know how to write C++.

The feedback has been very positive, and so I’d like to propose upstreaming it. This RFC is to solicit feedback about the scope, how it should be structured in the monorepo (or not), and what additional topics should be included.

Background

Core emphasis

I wrote my tutorial as a more detailed and incremental version of the toy tutorial, with a heavier focus on the software development lifecycle: how to set up the C++/tablegen boilerplate, how to write lit tests, how to construct pipelines and what to do when seeing various common errors, and details specific to out-of-tree projects that use MLIR as a dependency (e.g., how to configure lit from scratch).

In this sense, the tutorial is very much aimed at out-of-tree users of MLIR rather than upstream contributors. I spend much time on basic questions like, “how do you run an upstream pass?” and, “what traits already exist and what do they do?”

Current tutorial outline

1. Build System (Getting Started)
    • Brief history of MLIR
    • Bazel build system tutorial
  2. Running and Testing a Lowering
    • Basic MLIR syntax
    • Using the mlir-opt command line tool to run upstream passes
    • lit, FileCheck, and mlir-cpu-runner
  3. Writing Our First Pass
    • Making a custom project-opt binary
    • Writing a trivial pass without tablegen (walk the IR and call mlir::affine::loopUnrollFull on every affine.for op)
    • Reimplementing the above using a rewrite pattern