[RFC] Interprocedural MIR-level outlining pass

Hi everyone,

Since I haven't said anything on the mailing list before, a quick
introduction. I'm an intern at Apple, and over the summer I implemented a
prototype for an outlining pass for code size in LLVM. Now I'm seeking to
eventually upstream it. I have the preliminary code on GitHub right now,
but it's still very prototypical (see the code section).

Hi Jessica,

This is quite interesting.

Can you comment on why you started by doing this at the MI level, as opposed to the IR level. And at the MI level, why after RA instead of before RA?

Perhaps the first question is another way of asking about how accurately we can model call-site code size at the IR level?

Thanks in advance,
Hal

I think the “Motivation” section explained that. I too first thought about “why not at IR?” but the reason looks like MIR, post-RA has the most accurate heuristics (best way to know looks like actually getting there).

Do you know if there is any experimental pass that relies on deriving heuristics by a feedback loop after letting, ie. a duplicate module/function/block continue past?

Regards,

Kevin

To: "Hal Finkel" <hfinkel@anl.gov>
Cc: "llvm-dev" <llvm-dev@lists.llvm.org>
Sent: Friday, August 26, 2016 4:55:29 PM
Subject: Re: [llvm-dev] [RFC] Interprocedural MIR-level outlining
pass

I think the "Motivation" section explained that.

I don't think it explained it.

I too first thought about "why not at IR?" but the reason looks like
MIR, post-RA has the most accurate heuristics (best way to know
looks like actually getting there).

But also, potentially, the fewest opportunities. That's why I'm curious about the motivation - the trade offs are not obvious to me.

-Hal

Hi,

I let Jessica give more details but here are some insights.