[RFC] Updated MLIR Dialect Overview Diagram

Hi, I’m looking to update the figure from this post showing the relationship and flow of the different dialects for an upcoming presentation and for general reference. The previous figure doesn’t reflect the split of the standard dialect in addition to new dialects that have been added since then so I figure an update is warranted. Dialects that are either new, the result of a split, or omitted from the previous diagram are marked in green.

WIP MLIR Dialect Overview

I’m fairly new to MLIR so I’m looking for help/feedback on refining the placement and flow of the newer dialects (and older ones if functionality has changed). I found it difficult to place them just based on documentation so feedback from the community would be greatly appreciated. Additionally if there are any frontends or targets that should be added that would be great to know as well. I’m not expecting to place all of the current dialects here (e.g. the work in progress ones), but I figured I would include them for now.

Thanks for any help!

Credit to @ftynse for the original post.

2 Likes

Arith is not directly under math/complex, it is also generated from lowering from TOSA/MHLO/… when going to linalg I believe (the body of a linalg generic will use these ops often, so to be used in conjunction with linalg).

AMDGPU, Arn-Neon and ARM-SVE should be at the same level as AVX and NVVM at the bottom I think.

Thanks for looking into a refresh. As a warning, while I did use this picture in presentations, I only flashed it for a couple of seconds to say MLIR is complex and we can’t go into all details.