Request from a complete noob who is coming to LLVM/MLIR world. Asking for advice/suggestions

Hello

I am a complete noob to LLVM/MLIR world. My goal is to make transformation from python/C++ src code to CUDA and HLS C/C++ ( for Xilinx FPGA) language using MLIR.

First let me give you some idea about the current understandings I have

1. Know how to write CUDA and HLS (for Xilinx FPGA) accelerators for HW environment. And also managing the environment.
  2. Basic understanding of cmake config. And also C++ applications.
  3. Python scripting and web application development.
  4. Very very high level (birds eye view) idea of how a compiler works. More like theory. Never built, or tested anything of such kind. Donot have Computer Science background at bachelor level.
  5. In recent days, setting up LLVM/MLIR for learning purpose. Work-in-progress.

Now What I am trying to do

1. Have to work on accelerating algorithms (e.g. GEMM, Backpropagation, etc.)
  2. Select a src language (C++/Python) or ML framework (e.g. Pytorch, Tensorflow).
  3. Apply transformations (e.g. Polyhedral, Linalg) through MLIR for the algorithms.
  4. Spit out optimized kernel codes for CUDA and Xilinx HLS environment.

How I am planning to do

1. First try to go through with Toy example and understand how MLIR works.
  2. Then try to play with dialect example.
  3. Search for such MLIR template which will help me to put my things on top of it.
  4. Develop.

Constraints I have

1. Time
  2. and time. :unamused:

I have to develop a Proof-of-concept with just one algorithm (e.g. GEMM), for first CUDA and then HLS within 2 months. It is not mandatory that the transformations should be overly complex or highly optimized.

Now my questions are

1. Is it doable/possible from my current level of skills/understanding? I know answering such question is tough. But atleast if there is hope, special way to grab ideas faster, I’m just trying to know.